You are here: HomeEventsPast EventsSouth African Freedom Day 2008

South African Freedom Day 2008

The South African Community in Toronto, in conjunction with the South African Consulate-General and The Canadian Council of South Africans (CANCOSA), celebrated the Fourteenth Anniversary of South Africa’s democracy on Sunday, April 27th, at the Sheraton Centre Hotel, Dominion Ballroom at 12:00 noon.

South Africans are proud to demonstrate to the world, that a collaborative spirit of forgiveness and nation building has shaped a bright future for our country and all its people, serving as a wonderful example to those striving for a better world. They continue to confront and solve common and ongoing problems. Their courage in this regard enables us to live in harmony and truth irrespective of nationality, ethnicity, racial, religious and gender background. They have extended this message of hope and assertive dignity to people in every corner of the world.

Against this background, the 2008 South African Freedom day celebrations focussed on honoring individual members of the South African community in Toronto, who have consistently demonstrated selfless commitment to betterment of the circumstances of other South Africans in Canada as well as the community at large. Their deep insight into our country’s painful past, inspired by the miraculous progress of a liberated South Africa, coupled with the desire to serve, makes them ambassadors on the world stage.

Honorees were:

  • Henry Blumberg — Humanitarian Award
  • Zodwa Maduna — Humanitarian Award
  • Ezrom & Mamsela Mokgakala — Humanitarian Award
  • Lizzy Mahashe — Performing Arts Award
  • Glory Khumalo — Arts & Culture Award
  • Ebrahim Mollah — Goodwill Ambassador Award
  • Bruce Shapiro — Entrepreneurial Award
  • Jag Pillay — Community Service Award
  • Carole Adriaans — Excellence Award

This year it is was a special privilege and honor to have as the Guest Speaker of one of South Africa's promising provincial Legislatures, the North West Province, The Honourable Thandi Modise. She became one of the first members of the democratic National Parliament from its inception in 1994, served in several committees of our National Assembly, including chairing the portfolio committees of Defence and the Joint Standing Committee on Defence.

The following items are available to view in a pdf format by clicking on the links below:

South African Women for Women


Go to top